Political structure of the Council

Updated 03.06.21 @ 18:00

Councillors, wards, party leaders and political balance

The borough of Blackburn with Darwen is divided up into 17 areas, called wards, for election purposes, so that the views of all local communities can be represented at the Council.

The Council has 51 councillors:

  • Labour: 35
  • Conservative: 13
  • Lib Dem: 1
  • Independent Conservative: 1
  • Independent: 1

Find out more about the political makeup of the Council on our democracy website.