Political structure of the Council

Updated 07.06.22

Councillors, wards, party leaders and political balance

The borough of Blackburn with Darwen is divided up into 17 areas, or wards for election purposes, so that the views of all local communities can be represented at the Council.

The Council has 51 councillors:

  • Labour: 36
  • Conservative: 13
  • Lib Dem: 1
  • Independent: 1
Political structure of the Council donut chart

Find out more about the political makeup of the Council on our democracy website.