Conservation areas

Conservation areas are designated historic areas that have special architectural or historic character.

The Council has a duty to protect the special character of conservation areas. Within a conservation area, most buildings may not be demolished without the consent of the Council and trees are similarly protected. Stricter planning controls also apply for alterations and changes to buildings.

Buildings and structures are not individually listed as being of architectural or historic interest, but it is their group value and contribution to the overall architectural and historic character of the area that is important.

Development proposals should therefore always have regard to the aim to preserve or enhance the character of the conservation area.

Plans showing the location and boundaries of each conservation area are available below.

There are currently fourteen designated Conservation areas in the Borough, containing over 2000 individual properties:

  • Chapeltown 1970
  • Edgworth 1972
  • Hoddlesden 1975
  • Corporation Park 1 and 2 ( combined into one area in 2015) 1975
  • Griffin 1975
  • Richmond Terrace/St John's 1975
  • Dukes Brow/Revidge 1975
  • Blackburn Cathedral 1992
  • Richmond Terrace Extension 1992
  • Northgate 1994
  • Darwen Street 1994
  • King Street 1994
  • Darwen Town Centre 2005
  • ​Eanam Wharf Conservation Area 2013

Maps for each of these areas are available below.

Carrying out work within a conservation area

The Council provides advice and consultation to local residents who are considering carrying out any works on property within a conservation area.

If you would like advice on carrying out works within a conservation area please contact us.

Conservation area character appraisals and management plans

This series has been prepared on behalf of the Council to set out the historic character of each area and help inform development proposals to respect the historical context. Documents are available below.