School holidays

This timetable shows the standard school terms and holiday patterns for the academic year for community and controlled schools.

The school pattern for voluntary aided, foundation schools and academies is set by the governing body so parents are advised to check final term dates with the individual school/academy concerned.

School term and holiday pattern 2022/2023

Autumn term 2022

  • Re-open on Thursday 1 September 2022
  • Mid Term Closure: Monday 24 October-Friday 28 October 2022 (inc)
  • Closure after school on Friday 16 December 2022
  • Number of openings: 72

Spring term 2023

  • Re-open on Tuesday 3 January 2023
  • Mid Term Closure: Monday 13 February-Friday 17 February 2023 (inc)
  • Closure after school on Friday 31 March 2023
  • Number of openings: 59

Summer term 2023

  • Re-open on Monday 17 April 2023
  • May Day Closure: Monday 1 May 2023
  • Mid Term Closure: Monday 29 May - Friday 02 June 2023 (incl)
  • Closure after school: Friday 21 July 2023
  • Number of openings: 64

Total number of openings - 194

Please note that the number of openings has been amended to include the additional Bank Holiday for the State Funeral of HM Queen Elizabeth II.

Edgworth CE/Methodist Primary School and Belmont Community Primary school have traditionally followed the agreed holiday pattern of Bolton LA. This arrangement will continue for 2022/2023

School term and holiday pattern 2023/2024

Autumn term 2023

  • Re-open on Friday 1 September 2023
  • Mid Term Closure: Monday 23 October - Friday 27 October 2023 (inc)
  • Closure after school on Friday 22 December 2023

Number of openings: 76

Spring term 2024

  • Re-open on Monday 8 January 2024
  • Mid Term Closure: Monday 12 February- Friday 16 February 2024 (inc)
  • Closure after school: Thursday 28 March 2024

Number of openings: 54

Summer term 2024

  • Re-open on Monday 15 April 2024
  • May Day Closure: Monday 6 May 2024
  • Mid Term Closure: Monday 27 May - Friday 31 May 2024 (incl)
  • Closure after school: Monday 22 July 2024

Number of openings: 65

Total number of openings: 195

Edgworth CE/Methodist Primary School and Belmont Community Primary school have traditionally followed the agreed holiday pattern of Bolton LA. This arrangement will continue for 2023/2024